Legal News - What's the Next Generation of 401(k) Litigation
Legal News Home page Click here to add this website to your favorites
  rss
Bar News Search >>>

The Supreme Court's LaRue Decision
April 8, 2008

Location
90-minute Teleconference
1:00-2:30 pm ET / 12:00 pm -1:30 pm CT / 11:00 am-12:30 pm MT / 10:00 am-11:30 am PT
Nationwide, District of Columbia
United States of America

Description
Moderator: Karen Handorf, Cohen Milstein Hausfeld & Toll PLLC. Panelists: Bob Eccles, O'Melveny & Myers LLP; Tim Hauser, Department of Labor; Mary Ellen Signorille, AARP.

The Supreme Court’s decision in LaRue v. DeWolff, Boberg & Associates, Inc. makes it clear that a single participant can bring a fiduciary breach claim on behalf of a defined contribution plan, even if the losses relate only to that participant’s account. However, with two concurring opinions, the LaRue decision leaves many unanswered questions. Our panel of experienced ERISA litigators will discuss how the LaRue decision is likely to impact future 401(k) plan litigation. Topics will include: Do participants have to exhaust administrative remedies; Are fiduciary claims in defined contribution plans really benefit claims; What actions should 401k plans take to lessen the possibility of lawsuits; Can former participants bring suit if they’ve gotten a distribution;

Additional Information
What are the implications of LaRue for other types of plans; What types of claims & equitable remedies will be available under Section 502 (a)(3); Will this case impact issues surrounding auto-enrollment & investment advice; Who's liable if participant's investment instructions aren't followed.

Contact
Ms. Mary Karounos
Phone: 202-662-8676
Email: karounom@staff.abanet.org


Breaking Legal News  |  Headline News  |  Law Center  |  Legal Business  |  Court News  |  Law Firm News  |  Legal Interviews |  Political and Legal
Practice Focuses  |  Legal Spotlight  |  Events & Seminars  |  Legal Marketing  |  Court Watch  |  Immigration  |  Press Releases
International  |  Politics  |  Justice Stories  |  Web Design for Law Firms  |  Celebrity Courthouse
Law Promo's specialty is law firm web site design. Law Firm Web Design by Law Promo
© The Legal News Journal. All rights reserved.